FAQs – Legal translations

How do I get a quote for my legal translation?

Simply send an enquiry using the online form or an email to office@spezialis-translations.at, together with information on the length and type of the documents to be translated and your preferred deadline for delivery. I will get in touch with you promptly with a quote or to request further information.

How much does a legal translation cost?

It is difficult to say without first examining the documents to be translated. The price for a legal translation depends on several factors, including the complexity and length of the source text.

The price per standard line of source text (1 standard line = 55 characters including spaces) ranges from EUR 1.50 to EUR 1.80 (excl. VAT). Spezialis also reserves the right to charge increased fees for express translations (delivery within 24 hours) or work done over the weekend/at night/on official holidays.

Is there a minimum price for legal translations?

Yes. A project does not simply consist of the translation itself, but requires other work to be done, and this must also be taken account of in the price. Even the smallest projects require emails to be written, invoices to be produced and questions to be answered.

For this reasons, Spezialis charges a minimum fee of EUR 70.

Does Spezialis accept jobs from private individuals?

No. Spezialis focuses exclusively on B2B projects and therefore only accepts jobs from other businesses.

What information does the translator require in order to complete the project?

The most important document is of course the source text, which should be given to the translator as soon as possible so that she can deliver the translation within the agreed time period.

Otherwise, the following information should be provided when commissioning the translation: country in which the translation is intended to be used, preferred language variant (e.g. UK English), purpose of the translation (e.g. submission to state authority, publication, for advertising purposes) and any specific terminology to be used. For further information, please see my general terms and conditions.

What language combinations does Spezialis offer?

In compliance with the so-called “mother tongue principle”, I only translate from German into English. Translating into the mother tongue ensures the highest quality in translation.

What is so special about a legal translation?

Like other specialist languages, the language of law is highly complex and differs from colloquial language in many aspects. The meaning of words and concepts is extremely precise; the slightest error in one’s choice of words can have significant consequences.

Therefore, with legal translations, it is not sufficient to simply have flawless knowledge of the source and target languages. A high quality legal translation also requires deep knowledge of the content of legal concepts as well as how the underlying legal principles operate in practice. This requires education and experience.

What legal qualifications does the translator have?

Katharine Eyre studied law in England (University College London), Germany and Austria. After her studies, she worked for ten years as a lawyer in Austria, spending time at a commercial law firm, a bank and the Austrian Financial Markets Authority.

What can I do if I have questions about the translation?

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with Spezialis! I would be pleased to answer any questions and discuss amendments and alternatives with you.

What is a “native check”?

A “native check” is a proofreading service for documents that are already in English. The check ensures correct grammar and spelling, uniformity of terminology and fluency of the text.

Will my documents and data be handled confidentially?

Of course. Spezialis does not pass translations on to third parties; all work is done in house. I can sign a confidentiality agreement if you wish.

FAQs – Juristische Übersetzungen

Wie bekomme ich einen Kostenvoranschlag für meine juristische Übersetzung?

Schicken Sie mir eine Anfrage über das Online-Formular oder eine E-Mail an office@spezialis-translations.at mit Informationen über die Länge und Art der zu übersetzenden Dokumente sowie bis wann Sie die Übersetzung brauchen. Ich melde mich innerhalb kurzer Zeit bei Ihnen mit einem Kostenvoranschlag bzw. um zusätzliche Informationen von Ihnen einzuholen.

Was kostet eine juristische Übersetzung?

Das lässt sich nicht pauschal beurteilen. Der Preis einer Übersetzung hängt von mehreren Faktoren ab, z.B. der Komplexität und Länge des Ausgangstextes.

Der Preis pro Normzeile im Ausgangstext (Normzeile = 55 Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen) bewegt sich zwischen EUR 1,50 und EUR 1,80 (exkl. VAT). Darüber hinaus behält sich Spezialis das Recht vor, Zuschläge für Eilaufträge sowie Arbeit über das Wochenende/an Feiertagen in Rechnung zu stellen.

Gibt es ein Mindesthonorar für Übersetzungen?

Ja. Ein Auftrag besteht nicht nur aus der Übersetzung, sondern ist mit sonstiger Aufwand verbunden, die eingepreist werden muss. Auch bei den kleinsten Aufträgen muss die Übersetzerin E-Mails schreiben, Rechnungen er- und ausstellen und Fragen beantworten.

Aus diesem Grund verrechnet Spezialis ein Mindesthonorar von EUR 70.

Übernimmt Spezialis auch Aufträge von Privatpersonen?

Nein. Spezialis ist auf B2B-Geschäft spezialisiert und übernimmt daher ausschließlich Aufträge von Unternehmern.

Welche Informationen braucht die Übersetzerin, um den Auftrag zu erledigen?

Natürlich braucht die Übersetzerin den zu übersetzenden Text – und so zeitgerecht, dass sie die Übersetzung innerhalb der vereinbarten Frist liefern kann.

Ansonsten sollten Sie Informationen über das Zielland, Sprachvariante, Zweck der Übersetzung (z.B. Vorlage bei einer Behörde, für eine Publikation, zu Werbezwecken) sowie etwaige erwünschte Terminologie bei der Beauftragung bekannt geben. Weitere Informationen hierzu entnehmen Sie den AGBs.

In welchen Sprachkombinationen fertigt Spezialis Übersetzungen an?

Dem Mutterspracheprinzip entsprechend biete ich ausschließlich Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen ins Englische an. In die eigene Muttersprache zu übersetzen sichert die höchste Qualität der Übersetzung.

Was ist so besonders an einer juristischen Übersetzung?

Wie andere Fachsprachen, ist die juristische Sprache hochkomplex und weicht in vielen Hinsichten vom normalen Sprachgebrauch ab. Die Bedeutung einzelner Wörter und Begriffe ist sehr präzis; kleinste Ungenauigkeiten in der Wortwahl können erhebliche Folgen haben.

Daher reicht es bei juristischen Übersetzungen nicht, über einwandfreie Kenntnisse der Ausgangs- und Zielsprache zu verfügen. Eine hochqualitative juristische Übersetzung setzt zudem tiefes Wissen über den Inhalt der verwendeten Begriffe sowie die einschlägigen Rechtsgrundsätze voraus. Das erfordert Ausbildung und Erfahrung.

Welche juristische Fachkenntnisse hat die Übersetzerin?

Mag. Katharine Eyre hat Rechtswissenschaften in England (UCL), Deutschland und Österreich studiert. Zudem kann sie auf mehr als 10 Jahre Berufserfahrung in der Juristerei in Österreich zurückblicken. In dieser Zeit war sie bei einer Wirtschaftskanzlei, zwei Kreditinstituten und der österreichischen Finanzmarktaufsicht tätig.

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich Fragen zur Übersetzung habe?

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit Spezialis auf. Ich nehme mir gerne die Zeit, um Ihre Fragen zu beantworten und ggfs. alternative Formulierungen zu besprechen.

Was ist ein „Native Check“?

Ein „Native Check“ ist das Korrekturlesen eines Dokumentes, das bereits auf Englisch vorliegt. Dabei werden etwaige Fehler in der Grammatik bzw. Rechtschreibung behoben und die Einheitlichkeit der Terminologie geprüft. Mit einem Native Check können Sie sicher sein, dass Ihr Text richtig „fließt“ und hochprofessionell wirkt.

Werden meine Dokumente und Daten vertraulich behandelt?

Selbstverständlich. Bei Spezialis werden Ihre Übersetzungen nicht an Dritten zur Erledigung weitergeleitet; es kommt alles aus einer Hand. Gerne kann ich eine Vertraulichkeitserklärung unterzeichnen.